Lincoln Advent: 14 December

Advent Prayers, 14 December
Mission to Seafarers

Our Lord says, “Surely I come quickly.”
Even so: Come Lord Jesus.
(Common Worship, sentences for Advent)

“I’m on the train”
“Home soon.”
“I can’t wait to see you tomorrow.”

I wonder how many messages pass by text, phone and messenger each day saying “I’m almost there… it’s almost time… I can’t wait to be with you.”

The promise of our coming is an important part of our relationships. It allows people to prepare – to put the kettle on, to wrap up the tricky bit of business, or just to make use of those last few minutes alone (breathe… and… yes: you can come in). The messages also build excitement – they are a sign of the importance we place on relationships, the importance we hope you will place on them too. And, when the coming is delayed – when work or crisis or competing needs mean that we can’t be where we want to be, a message acts as a sort of promise: I am thinking of you. I want to be with you. I’ll get there as soon as I can.

Once the text has been sent or the phone call has been made, we are part of a process together. Something is about to happen – and it is something we already share.

The messages of Advent are like that: “See, I am Coming Soon. Surely I come quickly.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.

The words back and forth, the versicle and response, help form our relationship with God. They act as a promise – on both sides – that we are part of something together. What we are a part of is the coming of Christ in Glory. What we are a part of is the transformation of our world, until Christ is All in All.

We stand in the in-between time: Christ yesterday, Christ tomorrow – us today. Christ in us, surely. Christ in those we meet, without doubt. But for Christ’s presence to be known in our communities right now, God counts on us today.

the original post is here.

 

Leave a Reply

