joy upon joy

I have had such a good day.

It began in drearyness as I fret over a situation.

I’m trying to take a day each week this summer to seriously pray/ learn/ read/ step away and reflect, so off I went to brood.

(you can guess where)

I found  the very book I needed to help me think through the brooding situation constructively (and a few other books too) and spent seven hours in the library reading and transcribing long quotes (which is how I learn and give myself time to think).

The gulls and I shared fish and chips.  There was one lovely gull: so patient as he waited.  Then all the loud pushy types swarmed in.

Home across a suitably silver Tay and into a pink sunset,

to find that one friend has safely had her baby,
another has sent me a date-cake recipe,
and one of my new favourite blogs is offering up a very promising plan for caramel-corn.
Apparently the secret ingredient is baking soda:  who knew?

now time to mollify Molly, who feels somewhat ignored.

oh, and for those of you who may have a vested interest in what I learned today — it will take patience to find the benefit.  The brain got there in the library amidst the gull’s cry, but this particular brain is much better at jumping ahead than taking the rest of the body with it.

12 thoughts on “joy upon joy

  1. Sounds like a good day in the end.

    Baking soda is a fascinating thing—it also appears in the date cake in an unusual way.

  2. Glad you had a good day. Very important to get away from being on site and on the job. Reading, writing and thinking in a library is one of the things I miss.

  3. Ooh, I do that too! Not the cooking bit, but the copying out quotes bit. I keep a gorgeous journal for prayers, quotes, jokes etc that I find and write them all down. Richard Holloway did the same and I copied him. He probably used it for his writing – I plan to do it for sermons but never seem to find them at the right time.

  4. I think today might be the day for combining the note taking with the pop-corn making.

    It’s a day-off- with-chance-of-work, and the slow steady rain is proving the perfect backdrop for that sacred middleground of getting low-focus things done without slipping fully into work mode.

  5. I love this post. And that the library was useful. And now I really, really want carmel corn.

  6. Am I missing something? I can’t see the quantities. The caramel corn is tempting me….
    Glad you had the time you need. We should all learn to do that.

Leave a Reply

