music night 2

Some people get their adrenaline rushes by jumping of a cliff, by balancing on a high narrow ridge, by rushing faster and faster down a hill on a mountain bike.

me?

I plan events that I’m no where near qualified to lead.

Last week’s music night was a bit too familiar for the choir members, and a bit too terrifying for the rest.  So we’ve spent the week trying to figure out how to do it differently.

We said to each other:

We can  use drums and shakers and things

we’ll encourage people to put down the thing they know they can do well, and try something unfamiliar:  violinists play the flute… sopranos get the maracas… the silent types can sing the lead…

so I’ve been begging and borrowing instruments (and we don’t have enough)

I’ve been googling rhythm games and drumming workshops

and with 40 minutes till kick-off, I’ve suddenly thought:

What on earth am I doing??  I’m not a musician.  I don’t play any of these instruments.  How can this possibly work?

And to make it worse:  Molly is sitting firmly on the cheat sheets and she’s not budging.

It might be a scary night.

all in the name of building confidence.

pray for us, dear reader.

13 thoughts on “music night 2

  1. Good going. Glad to see you’re kicking over the metaphorical pews. 😉

    JOOI have you discussed musicianship with them? :

    a) the ability to gloss over a screwed-up note and carry on

    b) a soul-lifting delight in precision and control of performance (requiring rehearsal practice)

    c) the role of a performance’s quality as the part of worship that elevates it from Cain’s to Abel’s offering?

  2. I think you’re amazing! And I love how you try things and work away at them. I think this sounds like loads of fun and will keep getting better.

  3. Tonight, we had fun.

    Well, I did, at least.

    It was a small group, and everyone seemed to arrive relaxed.

    We played clapping games. We messed about with a hodge-podge of instruments. We listened to a completely OTT version of Townend’s The Lord’s my Shepherd (‘oh look, ecstatic groaning’) and it was so ridiculous that it gave us permission to hum, sing, ring, drum, and dance about (we needed a longer rain stick, though)

    Then, someone taught us a jewish-sounding version of the psalm, it we liked it so much that we’re singing it on Sunday.

    (just a capella this time. We’ll leave the drums and bells and seed-pods for next time)

    (( but I really like the seed pods ))

  4. no, Eammon. I do not have the musical skills to run such an event well. On the other hand, I have well developed improve skills (a.k.a. ‘panic and perform’).

    The first show I ever stage managed was an Improv group. I suspect in the long run, it was worth several years of TISEC.

  5. Kimberly

    I agree with Eamonn. There is nothing that you cannot do. Have I not been telling you this for many, many years?

  6. I might at times be biased BUT like George Washington ” I cannot tell a lie”. You of all people, Kimberly, know that this is the truth

  7. Just an observation – necessary musical qualifications can be the road away from inclusion as people may be intimidated and keep stum or mime. Far friendlier to pray,welcome and build confidence and community without censure nuture the soul and await the flowering.

  8. thanks, jem — that’s encouraging.

    We’ve been blessed with a musician/ choir trainer who could both enable congregational singing and develop more advanced skills, and I continue to hope that those deep musical & pastoral skills might be part of our future. But for now, we press on.

Leave a Reply

