bloggers and breadmaking

Mother Ruth caught the scent of bread on Angelhooves’ facebook account, and between them they had an idea…

Bloggers and Breadmaking
Saturday, 6 March — 10 am
St Mary’s Rectory, Dunblane

Hard to believe that it’s been a whole year since the cookie day got cancelled.  But now, we seem to be on more savory pursuits.  Ruth has never made bread, so this will be a basics workshop as well as a recipe swap.

I dare say there will be some sour-dough starter fermenting in various stages.  There shall have to be a sweet bread too.

So, is anyone interested?

Please respond in the comments and pass word along.

32 thoughts on “bloggers and breadmaking

  1. Oh, how I would love to come. However, I will be at a TISEC weekend and have 2, maybe 3, essays due Monday the 8th.

    I cannot express how much I would rather be baking bread than having the nervous breakdown which will undoubtedly occur as a result of trying to do too much in too little time.

    Enjoy!!

    (sorry for using your blog to have a little pity party for myself!)

  2. But Kate– you have Saturday afternoon off. We’re only half an hour away…

    Sorry it’s a bad weekend. Ruth suggested a couple of other dates too but that was the only one that would work here.

    oooh — what if we made pretzels too?

    Fr Dougal — how can you not like cookies? Have you ever had good American cookies? Sitll, I’m glad bread is of interest to you.

  3. Ohhh I love making bread nothing like it for taking out the stresses and strains of life, the dough becomes all kinds of situations and people as I kneed – now how can I rearrange my diary?

  4. I never said I don’t LIKE cookies: making bread is more my thing! It’s like the eastward position: just because I prefer it myself doesn’t mean I think the westward is wrong!

    But I haven’t had home made American cookies, so I can be converted!

  5. Count me in.

    You want I do my usual standard economy brown? I have time to work out a real recipe by then.

  6. Can also offer traditional Hot Cross Buns, or proper Chelsea buns as in my childhood and not anything like standard supermarket ones. All sticky and gooey. Not very Lenten though.

  7. One of the most useful things I learned in my curacy was there was exactly enough time to make hot cross buns on Good Friday so long as you were mad enough to try. The pattern went like this:

    8-9 morning prayer, breakfast
    9-11.30 last minute liturgy prep
    12-3 Stations of the cross, GF liturgy
    3.30 – 4.30 mix dough, cover & let rise. drink tea. play with cat.
    5pm Evening prayer
    5.30 – 6 shape dough
    6-6.45 let rise and heat oven
    6.45-7 bake; prepare glaze
    7-7.10 — put buns on cooling racks & bursh on glaze
    7.10- 7.15 wrap them up loosely — still on the trays– with tea towels and carry to the car.
    7.15-7.30 drive to the ecumenical service you are too tired to care about
    8.30 (please God) open the car door to the smell of cinnamon and raisins. Here the rector’s warden call to the rectory ‘I’ll just ride home with Kimberly’…

    Ah, happy days.

  8. I omit the first rise. So – dough, shape, rise, pipe crosses, bake, eat. Happily, spared ecumenical services. (I never said that).

  9. I wonder whether you could tell me what the working language of the day will be.

    Will it be conducted in English or American?

    The kitchen is one place where I know this to matter greatly.

  10. It will be bilingual, and that will form part of the theory section.

    however, any recipie that I provide will be in old measures. Metric makes no sense to me, unless I’m in a chemistry lab.

  11. no, I know.

    flour is best weighed, the rest is easier in volume measures.

    if it’s a sourdough starter then weighing is worth it.
    if it’s an ‘all in one’ then fluffing the flour and using cups will suffice.

    we will have to make sure we know how many ounces are in a pint, and which recipie goes with which pint measure.

    And with rosemary in the mix, we’ll be measuring in terms of handfuls, and hatfuls, and ‘whoops, no butter… well how about that tin of coconut milk…’ But it will all work out, no?

  12. I shall ignore the concept of fluffing flour for now.

    However, …

    “we will have to make sure we know how many ounces are in a pint”

    This is exactly the kind of thing that I feared.

    I understand Rosemary’s measurements more easily than I understand the concept of ounces in a pint. Are we talking fluid ounces here? If so, the answer is 20.

  13. I weigh in packets – whole, half and quarter. I cannot recall ever having measured the liquid that goes into yeast raised baking. The finer kind of cake is another matter. Choux pastry is wholly another. I always feel the lack of postal scales for it.

    I am astonished that having never cooked near me (to my knowledge) Kimberley should know these facts, but she does.

    One of my more successful cakes, much loved by Small Neighbour, was created precisely when I had no real fats (I am a post-war baby – to me all fat is potentially bakeable with) and used solid coconut instead. How does she know these things?

    But I have never baked sour dough and yearn to – American cooking has such ancient roots, and we have lost so much over here.

  14. This all sounds delightful, if somewhat terrifying!

    Alas, that is the busiest time of the term and I expect I shall be spending that afternoon marking a pile of first-year essays, not juggling the complexities of trans-Atlantic measurements (the Anderson household frequently relied on the VERY USEFUL New Zealand cookbook that includes many conversions, the one we use most often is the F to C temperature chart). Mmm, I’m sure there’s a paper for an Atlantic studies journal in here somewhere – ‘Trans-Atlantic dialogue through bread(bun)-making and theology’ – or something.

  15. Addendum: My husband assures me that everything is in fact convertable – including furlongs into milliliters or hogsheads into cups of flour.

    Think of the posibilities for mission!

  16. Your schedule for hot cross buns is amazingly relaxed! We have had a 10.30 am children’s service in St Mary’s with home made “straight out of the oven” hot cross buns by doing an overnight rise and getting up early, but I didn’t have to fit in morning prayer. I’m not necessarily volunteering”!!! Does one have to be an active blogger to join your breadmaking?

  17. Anthony, when we ran the first bloggers event a few years ago, we said ‘bloggers, commenter and ‘blog-lurkers’ are welcome’.

    As for Good Friday, it’s a fast day till after 3pm (at the very least) I’m afraid. So early morning baking is possible, but early morning eating is not. I find it easier not to have temptation on hand till after the liturgies are done.

  18. but it might have a beneficial effect on both the marking and the marker.

    Do remember the sheer volume of Theology/ English/ education degrees there will be in the room (not to mention the rest). A few essays to mark could be an amusing interlude.

  19. Tempting, but I’m not sure the English Dept. would be too thrilled!

    Marking professionally . . . what horror! I do hope you get paid better than Glasgow University GTAs.

Leave a Reply

