’tis the season

In the past two years, I have organized seasonal blogs for Advent and Lent.

At their best, the blogs:

  • help us to focus on a season
  • draw on the diversity of the church
  • have established and strengthened relationships
  • have offered a space for new — and often very powerful — writing
  • given us a space to share favourite quotes, stories, photographs
  • made us sit still for a few minutes each day in the midst of a busy season
  • been a good ‘window’ on the SEC

but they also:

  • take a lot of co-ordination
  • demand a high level of commitment and discipline from the authors
  • catch us all of guard sometimes, and send us into a tail spin as we cover our own and each other’s scheduling mistakes

So, my question is this:

Do we want to blog again this year, or has this project run its course?

Several of us who have been involved in the past have been struggling to keep our blogs active lately.  I suspect if we are going to do this we need some fresh ideas and new voices (along with some old familiar friends).

Those of you with blogs: please ask around, and send people here with responses.  Those of you who know creative types who might be persuaded to write for us, please get in touch by comments or email.

I’m willing to co-ordinate the blog again if there is sufficient interest, but my time for it will be quite limited this year, and I need to hear lots of enthusiastic voices if I am going to commit to the time it takes.

Last year’s blog is here:  Love Blooms Bright.

6 thoughts on “’tis the season

  1. I would be interested in taking part in Advent blogging if it runs this year. I have followed both love blooms bright and beauty from chaos over the last couple of years and really found them a blessing. Would be happy to give something back.

  2. I would love to see the Advent blog happen again this year and will post something about it now over on my blog. As one of those who’s struggling to keep my own blog active, and with exams and another TISEC weekend quickly approaching, I probably shouldn’t commit to contributing to love blooms bright though.

  3. I, too, would love to see it happen again and would be willing to contribute if you need some of the previous correspondents.

  4. Thanks to those who’ve written so far. The jury is still out.

    Pam, I’m glad that you’ve enjoyed the blogs and would now be willing to join in. That’s a really good model for us to hope for if they are to continue.

Leave a Reply

