old prayers

See, I can be a nostalgic traditionalist too.

Remember this?

Our help is in the name of the Lord
who is making the heavens and the earth.

Dear God, we thank you for all that is good,
for our creation and our humanity,
for the stewardship you have given us of the planet earth,
for the gifts of life and one another,
for your Love which is unbounded and eternal.

O Thou, most holy and beloved,
my Companion, my Unicorn, my Guide upon the Way.

Jim Cotter, Prayers at Night

It seemed as good a way as any to start a discussion on the language we use for God in tonight’s Deepening session.

2 thoughts on “old prayers

  1. This counts as old?

    Thanks for the reminder. I love this. Time for me to go back to Cotter perhaps.

  2. Ah, thank you for the reminder. ‘My Unicorn’ – I LOVE that. Maybe I shall re-read The Once and Future King for that passage about the unicorn and love. Ah…

Leave a Reply

