mystified

Today has been the day of un-writable blog posts.

I wanted to write about the various links on Thinking Anglicans (here and here) about the escalation of the rhetoric of abuse against gay people in Nigeria, but I find I am lost for words at the inhumanity of what is being done in Christ’s name.  (Notice the suggestion that we should indoctrinate fear and hatred, and take action to rid the world of (and I quote)  ‘homos’.)

So, I went browsing to distract myself, and followed a link from a blog I know to a blog I don’t know, to a blog that person recommended, where I found this post arguing that a male pastor should never speak in private to a woman.  You will need to read the first half of the comments too.   The paranoia, the objectifying of women, and the  easy assumption that we cannot control our actions (except by excluding the one we’re afraid of) again leaves me speechless.

So there you have it.   You can go read about the things that make me too angry to speak, and perhaps find words where I have failed.

15 thoughts on “mystified

  1. I would LOVE to see Chris have a bash at them – you might add – how come the only sin they think will arise in a pastoral situation is adultery/fornication. (I remember the caustic comment from Bute about objections to a semi nude painting that it did not strike him as much of a sign of a pure mind that the person objecting could not look at a bit of flesh without having impure thoughts.) How do they propose avoiding the other sins? How do they propose to avoid thinking themselves better than those they counsel? And what to they intend to do about sloth, inattention?

    Of course one might also want to point out that it would be the death of any counselling – they are protecting themselves from any appearance of sin at cost of getting an real work done.

    This strikes me as an import from other cultures where the sexes are not trusted to mix. This is not part of our western culture at all.

    Having spent most of my life in intermittent battles over am sex partnerships, I wish I could say I was in any way surprised at the terrible language coming from some. I can’t. I, like so many others, am well past wanting to preserve unity. We have to go our own way, but we must avoid falling into the trap of letting justifiable anger and sounding like those we oppose. We also need to avoid apologising for sounding western and liberal.

  2. words?? A link here, certainly. I’ve had a shot at a post, but I have no hopes of being heard, I fear.

  3. ok, chaps – I’ve been and gone and commented. I see that comments are moderated – obviously takes no chances, this chappie.

  4. Well, both comments have made it past Cerberus…and Rosemary’s wasn’t there when I did mine. It’s splendid. Well done, sister!

  5. I thought yours was better – wonder if they will respond?!

    I was wondering why I felt I had o have a go at this and not at the Nigerian homophobia. Partly because that is a battle lost – they are too far down their path to turn back readily now. Partly because there are plenty of voices raised against this already. More, I think, because it kind-of makes things easier. It is now so so clear that we should not have any truck with this in any way. There is a kind of relief in it.

    Whereas the ‘parishioners of the opposite sex are all succubus/incubus’ thing is mindboggling and newish. I particularly liked the suggestion that male clergy should spend time chaperoning female clergy with male parishioners. So, you endup with male and female clergy alone.

    The whole thing is nuts.

  6. You’ve done very well, Rosemary.

    I don’t suppose you’ll win over most of the people writing, but you can take joy in the fact that if a young questioning soul reads the post and thinks ‘is this it? do I really have to live this way to be Christian?’ you’ve offered a reasonable, compassionate, biblical alternative.

  7. No I don’t suppose I will, but as you say the challenge is there. Biblical I do. I do believe we need to challenge ideas, before they get too strong a hold.

Leave a Reply

