holidays

Four whole days without touching a computer.  That might be a first.

I’m back in New England, in the too-soon-to-be-stunning Fall.  The dogwood is trying hard to offer autumn reds, and as I drive round there is a constant flurry of tiny gold leaves.  Otherwise, it is the dull green of waiting.

So, what do you do on your holidays?  I find I do exactly what I do on a day off, but in different places.

Dad and I went to New York to see Equus.  Not the most likely father-daughter show, but I’ve always wanted to see it (after reading it in a ‘Madness in Literature’ course in high-school) and it opened last week.

The reviews are all true:  it was superb.   What I enjoyed most, unexpectedly, was the simplicity of the set.  In a world of The Lion King and Cirque de Solei, it was such a joy to have an almost bare stage with a few grey boxes which were turned and flipped to change the space.  Proper theatre this… though it took half the audience a very long time to realise this was neither a comedy nor a nice story about wizards and horses.

After the show, we sat in Bryant park drinking coffee.  It was an unexpectedly lovely moment that seemed to remind Dad of his student days.

Yesterday:  a mixed result at shopping (children’s books and dried chillies: yes.  much needed clothes: no), then an evening with Ugly Betty, Sarah Palin & Joe Biden.

Today: making chilli and baking bread.

Friends tomorrow, and the joy of church-without-strings on Sunday.

I’m going to stay away from the computer as much as possible.  Normal routine (and blogging) resumes in a week.

14 thoughts on “holidays

  1. Sounds wonderful! Enjoy yourself. And enjoy the soon to be stunning fall, I hope you get a bit more glorious colour.

  2. Holidays? Six concerts in the newest venue in London (very nice too), skipping round the Tube thanks to having acquired an Oyster, visiting churches, buying incense (really), eating out, drinking expresso in strange places, walking on Hampstead Heath – I think the last was most typical of my normal life. And Sunday will be spent on the Waverley, on the Thames, in the rain. What’s new?
    🙂

  3. PS I wrote espresso – honest: Neil’s keyboard feels different and my finger slipped. (look and see how possible that is)

  4. It’s terrible to think that it’s so long since we spoke that I didn’t even know you were away home!

    Hope you have a good rest and please send my love to your folks. Your “Dad-time” sounds great and reminded me that it’s too long since I did the same.

    I, too, hope that the stunning colours appear for you…… Shades of Grey here!!!!!

    K x

  5. This holiday seemed to appear very suddenly (it was a long way off when I planned it in July, and then…) Crazy weeks of chaos followed by a sudden dash to the cattery & airport. I’ll be back soon.

  6. Bravo, K!

    I could never, never, imagine going to see Equus with either of my parents. (I’m channeling J. D. Salinger; can you tell?) I wouldn’t be watching the play; I’d be squirming the whole time, dreading the moment when the entire audience’s eyes widen and trying to suppress all thoughts of Freud and Oedipus and such (granted it is a psychological drama).

    Of course, you have a much healthier relationship with your parents than I…. Glad you enjoyed it.

  7. I was worried about seeing it with Dad, but in the moment it really didn’t matter.

    It’s such an intense play, but the intensity is in that inner battle between mind and emotion. There’s a sense of being in parallel with other members of the audience, but it is not a collective experience.

    Perhaps the greatest testimony to the play was not that neither Dad nor I flinched at ‘that scene’ but that he did not once fall asleep — which is unprecedented in all the years we’ve gone to the theatre together.

Leave a Reply

