pain

Last week, the lay team had a conversation about humans-and-animals, and I confessed that (however severe a failing you may find it) I know that my emotional response-into-action is deeper and swifter with an animal in distress that with humans.  It’s all about their total inability to understand why it hurts.

Well, appartenly my instinct extends also to dionosaur robots.  Go watch.  The first half is lovely, and the second half sad.  Sadder still when the reality of so many children’s lives is placed before you.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, Molly needs attention.

5 thoughts on “pain

  1. It says, “This media is not available in your territory,” but I read the blurb below the video box. I have to confess I would find it difficult to watch even a robot dinosaur being maltreated. If it were a child, I couldn’t even click on the link. But then, I’m the one who used to walk out on sitcoms because people were being laughed at, so maybe I’m just hypersensitive. What happened to the robot’s behavior, or don’t I want to know, given the obvious application to life?

  2. Sarah, since you can’t watch, I’ll clarify. The abuse is more in neglect than aggression. Talking about instead of to, begrudging having to shift adult schedules, ‘parents’ fighting, no play time.

    The loved dinosaur was a delight — playful and friendly, ‘purring’ and responsive. The neglected one withdrew further and further into himself, with no interest in life.

  3. I so much agree with what you said in your blog about pain, and your reaction to the suffering of animals and how much this affects you. YOU ARE NOT ALONE.

    I will never forget the horror of seeing the news pictures of the killing of seven horses in an explosion in Horseguards Parade. Although this happened in July 1982 the pictures of this terrible scene will always be in my mind.

    I am ashamed to say that this evening I had to look up the story in the internet to find out if any humans had been killed, and yes, two soldiers had died.

    I get little pleasure out of watching animal programmes these days, especially if they feature macho game hunters. You can add to that those cookery programmes where the chefs get maximum enjoyment out of killing their pet pigs, hens, boars, cows, deer, grouse – whatever moves -which can then be stuffed into a cooking pot with a handfuls of herbs.

Leave a Reply

