blog awards

Here’s a little something for those of you easily led to procrastination.

At synod, I will be leading a lunch time session on how blogs can serve the church.   One of my tasks over the next few days is to come up with ideas and examples.  So, I’d like you to search your memories, and other people’s blogs.   What blog-posts (from any vaguely churchy blog — SEC or otherwise) have made a difference to you?  Do particular conversation threads stick in your memory?  Has a blog post or discussion ever helped you make sense of your faith, feel more connected with the church, given you hope, etc.?

I’m looking for good communicable examples.

Comments on good and bad practice and blog strategy are also welcome.  If I find I’m preaching to the converted, then we’ll skip the ‘this is a blog’ phase and go straight to blogging-as-tool.

And I will of course say ‘one of the good things about blogging is that the blogging community will often do your work for you…’

12 thoughts on “blog awards

  1. Now Kimberly (she says with stern maternalism)…this blog is definitely about work and I’m about to sound like Eamonn in the ‘other’ posting and suggest you need a real holiday. Of course, all the nuns I know say there is no such thing as a real holiday as God’s work always needs to be done. My response is normally (and cheekily): even God had a day off.

    However, just to fulfil the need of your request, I would say that the most important thing about a blog for me is that it allows me to engage with my spiritual life on a daily basis without having to withdraw entirely from the world. As a result the three blogs I read regularly and respond to are from a monastic community, yours (always got something about God in it somewhere) and Kelvin’s because of his thoughtful position on matters ecclesial. Sometimes I branch out and read other blogs, but ultimately my blog reading is about my need to touch base with religion daily…. I think that such a daily ‘touching base’ is impossible otherwise that blogs really are a potential space for a different type of pastoral ministry.

  2. This blog, and still more the Advent and Lent blogs grew me – I grew in confidence and my writing blossomed. It became (inter alia) more pointed, and shorter. I think I am look back on these blogs as a turning point in my life.

  3. Blogging is the essay-writing of the 21st century. Swift, Bacon – at our best we are their inheritors. I blog to organise my thoughts and share them in the most coherent form of which I am capable. I write and read blog posts about the most important things in my life, and I learn from doing both. If that’s not as important in the journey of faith as it is in the journey of education, then there’s something wrong – but not with the medium.

  4. Hmmmm. . . so many questions!

    One blog I always get a lot out of is merryscloister.blogspot.com. She doesn’t write very often, but when she does, she always gives me something to think about. Unlike some of us who do post frequently and tend to write about other parts of our lives in addition to ‘God stuff’, her posts are almost exlusively about listening for God and the way God has been revealed in her life. To be privy to her reflections feels a real privilege because her writing is so thoughtful and intentional, and I always take something away from her posts.

    As for SEC blogs – I read them to feel connected to the happenings in the SEC, and I get a sense of community from them during a time when I’m struggling to find my place in a local church. Sometimes it’s reassuring to hear my frustrations echoed, and other times it’s helpful to see things from a different perspective. Reading the blogs, it’s easier to see beyond the institution of the church (which I both love deeply but am also immensely frustrated with) to the people who give it life and energy. It’s evidence that the church is not dead yet.

  5. Procrastinating again (I’m supposed to be writing minutes):
    Blogito ergo sum?

    But seriously, in edublogging circles (which is where I began it all) it is the received wisdom that blogging makes for more reflective practitioners in education. I certainly learned a great deal from reading edublogs, and in turn have used my blog to share good practice. You can find one example (I realise I’ve been careless with tagging) here.
    If this works those involved in (secular) education, I’d say the same would go for the church – no?

  6. I’m completely braindead from conferencing (yes, it is a verb!). Not the actual attending, but the organising and writing preparation sapping all potential for coherent thought. So I can’t do much more here then mumble agreement with what’s already been said. And point to some favorites:

    You already know my number 1: http://www.thurible.net/20070702/two-literary-questions/

    I also really enjoy the way Kelvin posts his sermons, it gives me a chance to read one’s I’ve missed and when I have been in church, it’s nice to go back and read through at a slower pace, or return to a point that had intrigued or troubled me. Particular favorites are the Easter series last year (I was in New Zealand for all of Holy Week and Easter week).

    Kimberly, your feminist blog posts. And the ones that talk about books.

    Will try to think of something more sensible in a day or so!

  7. If you want another example of being influenced by a specific post, I can point you to one by Ephrem in which she commends the hymn
    Hail Holy Queen. I found the post significant because she’s convinced me of the merits of a hymn which I probably wouldn’t otherwise have considered (and I still haven’t managed to get the tune out of my head).

    Robin

  8. Here is what I’ve got most out of over the last year:

    – Blogs on what people have read recently
    – Your upbeat articles on church life, which have often restored my confidence in that sometimes absurd institution
    – Sharing thoughts on prayer and bible study
    – Particularly memorable articles, e.g., ‘A moment’s hesitation’; ‘Too easy’.

    And, by the way, I’m determined to tackle my problem of procrastination, starting tomorrow!

  9. Robin, that’s a new site for me — looks interesting.
    Though I fear I will also have to watch Sister Act again, now that you’ve mentioned it.

    Eamonn — do you have any specific examples re: prayer, bible study?

    Chris, I think Virtual Church may be a lunch time session for you to give next year. The appeal still eludes me.

  10. Where to start? – there’s so much! But as a sampler:

    – ‘Lessons in redemption’ on Amos
    – Fragments and fractals
    – ‘Grace’
    – ‘undique’
    – ‘A little thing’

    And, in a different category, ‘By any other name’ on the great LCM/lcm debate.

Leave a Reply

