today, today

I’ve just learnt that today is Blogger Appreciation Day.

Now, I’ve not been giving you a lot to appreciate lately, but hopefully someone else has. The idea is to leave them a comment, thanking them for something specific that you value from their blog.

I think this is a great idea (and I bet the comments aren’t nearly as embarrassing as the cards you can get in the States for ‘clergy appreciation day.’)

Despite many of us valuing and enjoying blogs, there is still a lot of opposition out there. Just last week, someone I greatly respect said to me ‘Don’t talk to me about blogs. Blogs are evil.’ This venom was elicited simply because I suggested that one way a particular group could have private conversation without being dependant on the office computer gurus was to set up a private group blog.

The rumour is that those of us who blog and comment on blogs are continuously nasty to each other and say things that we would never dare say to people’s face. I find this hard to understand. In the SEC, we all blog under our own names. We know that anything we say might be seen, and that we therefore might be judged by it. I won’t pretend that bloggers don’t occasionally make errors of judgement, or that sometimes things come across in ways we don’t intend, but the fact that I can name quite specifically the times I think this has happened suggests it’s rather rare.

As for comments — they can be used for good or ill. Do you think the blogger has gone too far? Tell them. They may be glad you’ve pointed out the problem, and seek to rectify it. If the blogger thinks you have gone too far, the blogger can delete your comment. We don’t do this regularly — but if someone is acting destructively, it is possible to remove the offending item, and email them explaining why.

So, if you are a blog-loather who is reading this in the same spirit that makes people slow down to look at car accidents: here’s your chance. Tell us why you hate blogs.

And if you are thankful for this medium, today’s the day to tell someone why.

9 thoughts on “today, today

  1. Goodness – I never knew about today and now it’s nearly over! I love blogs, and I love being able to share my own thoughts and the thoughts of others. I’d miss the medium dreadfully if it were to be taken away suddenly. Cheers, bloggers all! 🙂

  2. I love blogs, though confess to being a reader of, rather than a commentater on, the same. I appreciate the content, which gets me thinking (no mean feat with a houseful ot teenagers), the dialogue which provokes a re-think and the opportunity to comment and ask questions. Love the links too. Long live the blog!

  3. I love blogs – but I also enjoy discussion boards, and for years was an active member of an email group (one closely related to Thinking Anglicans, btw) – in the end the sheer volume of correspondence got to me.

    No doubt but the internet has really opened up my world.

    None of the blogs I’ve used or entered have been in the least hostile. One I enjoy a lot is ‘The Old Foodie’ – devoted to period food and recipes.

  4. I think I could count on the fingers of one hand the number of hostile/rude comments on my current blog. (The last one was prone to hosts and hosts of spam, some of which was not very nice!) Occasionally I allow them, if only to let people see what we clergy/women have to put up with from time to time. But mostly I delete them. However, I do wish people would comment more.

    I love blogs. They keep me in touch with people at times that suit me and in this job that is really important.

    And Kimberly, yours in one of the best!

  5. Thanks Ruth. I fell that it has been flagging for a long time, but perhaps it is time for resurrection.

    (then again, I only think it’s working when there is that magical mix of laughter, reflection and theological discussion. And thanks to the community of commenters, that sometimes happens even when I’ve offered nothing more than the latest photo of the cat.)

  6. Have you made clear when bloggers’ bluebell day is? I may have missed the declaration, but I’ve been asked twice in the last week when it is and found that I did not know.

    Will there be Bailey Pies?

  7. Yes I thought so- Commenter surfices- commentater- not!
    Time I followed in my teenages footsteps and worked on the English!! Middle age and hormones (and teenagers) – what a devastating mixture. Thank God (and I do) for Kimberly for injecting a good measure of joy and sanity into my chaos!

  8. Flagging? What flagging? I read Angels and Men just a week or two ago because of your blog! And have Merrily Watkins to look forward to (possibly this Friday night, after the end of what is rapidly turning into the WEEK OF DOOM).

    I adore your blog (among many others! -too many others really, for the sake of my research) and in fact, often have comments simmering away in my head (that may or may not see the light of day).

    I must confess to being surprised to hear of the negative feedback. I have certainly known plenty of online communities that could get quite negative and even vicious. And I think there’s something to be said for the fact that people will say something in email/online that they won’t say to someone’s face (I’ve been guilty of that). But I don’t think I’ve found much online that was worse than intra-office emails! And I’ve very, very rarely found that kind of thing in the SEC blogosphere. Really, I think we’re quite civilized!

    There’s a lot of things that I like about blogs, but beyond the quality of the writing (I do often think a lot about what I read on blogs) and the interactions within the comments (which are the best bits for me), I also appreciate the networking – I’ve found a lot of great blogs through various people’s blogrolls. The community is very special to me.
    And finally, what on earth would I do for procrastination without them? I’d have to read comics or something.

  9. I agree with Ruth’s comment on your blog, which is always thought-provoking, and has created a community characterised by courtesy and supportiveness.

    As for people saying harsh things to each other face-to-face, I’ve never found that Episcopalian congregations are particularly inhibited in this respect!

Leave a Reply

