…our darkness

Lampstands at the ready.

There will be no blogging, no electricity, and no heat at the rectory for the next couple of days while a very old tree gets pruned.

Now, do you suppose there is any chance I will manage to think of everything I need to print off my computer before 8am tomorrow?

update: my greedy laser printer has just asked for another £50 worth of ink. It got fed in Holy Week and had a week off after Easter. I think, despite it’s youth (7 months) and fine pedigree (recommended as small office champion) its days are numbered. A very costly mistake, I fear. Do not repeat it and succumb to an HP. They haven’t improved since the first one I hated all those years ago.

4 thoughts on “…our darkness

  1. I haven’t had to use an HP for a while, don’t they have cracked ink cartridges? like non branded ones you can use on it? I love HP since they full support Linux etc but they are rather expensive!
    Epson all the way 😀 plus you can get cheap non branded inks for them 🙂

  2. I got the joint vestries to purchase a laser 3-in-one machine in my first year (copier/scanner/printer)- invaluable little addition to the home office. £90 toner lasts about 4-6 months, £90 drum cartridge 2 years!

    it even prints service booklets and noticesheets back to back without me having to reinsert the paper (with a little help from office publisher)

    the model I have is the Sharp Al-1457D, not the best or the most expensive by any stretch of the imagination, but does a fantastic job, and I’ve never had any problems with it.

    70+ servicesheets per week, plus any additional midweeks or funeral services, full booklets for baptisms & festivals. Only downside is its black and white. Upside – laser ink doesn’t run in the rain in the mad dash between church and car!

    well worth the investment the vestries made 🙂

  3. I don’t recommend Epson. It has this little issue that every so often the little ink tubes get clogged and one of the colors stops working. It also does it sometimes when a new cartridge is put in. (No, it’s not just that I’m inept – our computer guy has to keep swapping things out while he works on them.) That said, the C88 I just got because the last two older models did the little trick above has not done anything bad yet.

  4. P.S. – Are you staying somewhere else? Cold showers? No tea? Tell me you have gas… Oh dear.

Leave a Reply

