evensong for one

Christmas Altar 2

No one came to the Eucharist tonight, which meant that I had time to realise that it is Christmas. The head-cold is beginning to lift. Home communicants stand a chance of seeing me soon. My favourite Christmas CD is playing for the first time this season. Who knows, maybe I shall even find the energy to clean the house.

And, best of all, I was able to pray for the first time in days (apart from the ‘God help’ sort, and the ‘it’s your liturgy, you do it’ type) — just in time for the Magnificat antiphon I love best:

When peaceful silence lay over all,
and night was in the midst of her swift course,
from your royal throne, O God, down from heaven
leapt your almighty Word.

 

5 thoughts on “evensong for one

  1. I’m heartily glad you’re feeling better. Two zips, each in turn each taking at least two hours to put in, collapsed in turn in Bea’s dress. My friend who sews spent twelve hours yesterday, sewing solidly, and this morning we hope-and-expect to finish Bea’s wedding outfit – er and mine too!

    I shall enjoy the few days off from the departure of my family around 3 Jan to resuming work 7 Jan with more than usual joy.

  2. i love the snowflakes!! wish we could have some real ones here….
    glad you’re starting to feel a bit better and hope you get a bit more space to rest.

    and thanks for the email – plenty there to think about and mull over during the holidays. good to hear your thoughts on the BD programmes.

Leave a Reply

