carry on

I finally reached the point this week of admitting that exhaustion had won.  It tried masking as a cold, briefly flirted with the idea of making me sick, kindly went away for thanksgiving dinner, then settled in with a vengeance as a headache today.

The result is a fully backed up computer system, lots of deleted files, and a very relaxed cat.

But, as I’ve trundled on this week, one thing struck me.  Phone call after phone call has come from various members of the congregation telling me how they have been looking after each other.  That’s not what they said, of course.  All the calls came as ‘I think you should know…’  And indeed, many of them will demand follow-up from me.  But for the most part the real work had already been done.

Some of the work has been brave too:  not giving people what they want, in the hopes of actually giving them what they need.  Drawing a line while still acting compassionately.  Reaching out to people that are perpetually hard to reach.  All the difficult stuff that most of us struggle with when holding the balance between ideals and personalities, long term and short term goals.

I’m glad they’re all getting on with it while I continue to ‘go-slow’ for a couple of days.

(once the vestry meeting is over, of course.)

7 thoughts on “carry on

  1. There is a great merit in not doing. I say this as one who has struggled all her life to learn it, and is now getting better at it … but there is. A great merit in doing a bit of teaching and then giving others space to take it and work on it and make mistakes, and have successes, and come back for more teaching.

  2. Take care and look after yourself. Reserve as much energy as you can. It’s all going to get awfully busy in the next few weeks.

    I always try and have a Reading Week at this time. It gives you a rest and time to prepare for what is to come.

    A candle burns for you.

  3. Despite the headache, you managed a difficult vestry meeting really well. I hope today Molly will be even more relaxed. Maybe some book in your library requires attention.

  4. Ruth, I have been watching news of your reading week with delight. It sounds like such a good idea. When I first came here, I aimed for reading days once every 6-8 weeks, but apart from the occasional half day of ‘resource trawling’ (for lay team training, major liturgies, etc), they have fallen by the way side.

    As for the vestry — a pleasant surprise. I had steeled myself for lots of stress and tension and instead we had much laughter (and a little stress and tension). God bless a congregation who can laugh at a scary Quinquennial.

  5. I echo Ruth’s sentiments. Relax and give yourself some TLC. You’re doing a great job, even if you don’t always believe it!

  6. Kimberly – don’t let yourself get exhausted again – we are all here to support you.
    Take care – I am lighting a candle for you here too.

Leave a Reply

