who knew?

Well, it has been a girly week, hasn’t it? Posts on

  • pink hot water bottles
  • home made jam
  • high-heel races
  • rabbits
  • ‘beauty tips for ministers’

And tonight, while bravely purchasing women’s clergy shirts on line, I found my way to a web site/ community for young women clergy. I can think of only two other people in Scotland eligible to join the group (one of whom is Methodist). Oh, and a few who meet the category ‘women in waiting’ for those not yet ordained.

Most of the time, I would say that the double jeopardy of being young and a women in the priesthood doesn’t bother me. But tonight, my wistfulness at seeing the group photo at Fidelia’s Sisters suggests otherwise.

Time to curl up with a cat, a cup of tea and a silly magazine, I think.

Then hopefully back to proper theological posts soon.

27 thoughts on “who knew?

  1. I think girly is good and I hope the magazine was suitably frivolous. Hooray for the Web and the telephone, eh?

  2. You’re who I was thinking of Ali. Carrie was the only other possibility, but I decided that since it was November, chances were that she had had her birthday already this year.

    Sadly it was a dull magazine — probably a reflection on the fact that I bought it at somerfields (which limited the more upscale options) while wearing my dog-collar (which means I went for house and food). Now there’s a girly post topic: what magazines would people avoid buying in a dog-collar?? Actually, I suspect the men could join in that one too.

  3. If you want me to smuggle you an under-the-counter copy of the People’s Friend, the Oldie or Private Eye, let me know. Maybe you can take out a subscription to something frivolous like Marie-Claire for Molly. I’m sure she’d let you have a read in return for a cuddle.

  4. Private Eye is fine. Funnily enough the only magazine that’s ever raised an eyebrow when in Moggys or somesuch supermarket in uniform has been PC Format – as though the clergy (and/or maybe women) shouldnt know anything about computers. Presumably we should be stuck in the last century somewhere…

  5. Thanks Di, but The People’s Friend is one I would buy only while wearing a dog-collar (presumably with a bunch of grapes on my way to a hospital visit).

  6. Crikey, steady on – the People’s Friend is a bit racy for someone in hospital, isn’t it? And you don’t want to be caught buying it and end up on the front of one of the gossip magazines.

  7. I’m glad it’s Vanity Fair that snatched you up, Kelvin. Elle or Vogue wouldn’t have had the delicious irony of the title each time you repeat it…

    Have we ordered special imports from Borders, or are you just planning to copy the relevant section into the diocesan magazine?

  8. Oh please, Kelvin. I grant the style bit is new, but the rest of it you’ve been cultivating for years.

    Next time, you need to work on how to upstage the mother of the bride. It’s really quite shocking that you failed on a gold cope day.

  9. Yes, I was worthily beaten, though I did make quite an entrance in the Cope of Glory, to the singing of a rousing hymn.

    There are parts of the Christian tradition which use feathers liturgically – ostrich and peacock feathers in fans etc. Do you think that is the kind of thing I should be thinking about? Or do you think that jewels are the obvious next step?

    I suppose that I set the trend now, so perhaps it is for me to decide. Such a responsibility. Where I go, the readers of Vanity Fair must surely follow.

  10. Ahem, if I can be so bold as to interrupt a conversation on liturgical feathers (jewels are a bit passe, I would think).

    You may be encouraged, Kimberly, to discover a third sub-40 ordained woman – my dear wife Jane no less – unless she was one of your two. But hurry, we’re not going to be thirty-somethings for ever!

  11. Thank you, Duncan. I didn’t know. It would be good to meet sometime when I’m in Edinburgh or you’re in Dunoon (now I wonder which is more likely!).

  12. Feathers! Def peacock over ostrich, I think.

    Btw, I’ve finally got James to choose new glasses (the old ones being held together entirely by wires and being lopsided because of a missing nose piece). They are a subtle nod to the current style as seen in Vanity Fair, yet distinctive enough not to be a slavish imitation.

  13. See! Where I have gone, others are indeed following.

    Presumably it is the black glasses that we are talking about, which were the VF ones, not the red party glasses that were being so much admired by the VF journalists when they could take their eyes of James’s kilt.

  14. They’re sort of rust coloured, though more in the style of the black glasses-to-be-worn-with-the-Cope-of-Glory than the red party glasses. See, the subtly of style is astounding. I’ll leave you to guess which one of us picked them out . . . (the same one who chose the kilt tartan as nearly-pictured-in-VF).

  15. Sarah, it’s all hush hush. I think the famous man himself might be wrapping an electronic version in brown paper for you as we speak.

    Please note the injustice here:
    a post on being girly came to be dominated by a discussion on a man’s fashion prowess in the comments.

    Daphne, where are you when I need you?

  16. I think my comments were pretty clear that it was my fashion sense, not James’ (but shh, don’t tell him that!)

    However, I apologise for hijacking the post with overly-many references to glasses.

    Would it help if I return to my original comment? I must confess I had disregarded the thorns entirely was only thinking about the pure, sweet, goodness of the fruit. Surely that’s theological (and maybe girly???) too?

    I offer a poem instead of a girly mag. This poem, by Mary Oliver, is one of my favorites. http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/august/

  17. What we need now is someone to tell us what fashionable clergy should be wearing when the hotel fire alarm goes off at 6:30 AM during diocesan convention… Hundreds of Episcopalians were not of one mind, I assure you, other than that it should be accessorized with a mug of coffee, and there was none to be had.

    Someone said to me, “I always wondered what nuns wore to sleep in.” One mystery of the universe cleared up for that deacon.

  18. It’s lovely to come back to ongoing conversation and a poem.

    Sarah, as to clergy dress for too-early-morning fire alarms, the key is to be wearing something. Though if anyone is exempt from that requirement it should be nuns.

    Kelvin, you put me in a dilemma. Your girly credentials have certainly gone up of late. But then there is your long standing patriarchal tendency to subvert feminism to your own advantage. Perhaps I should have given you the benefit of the doubt this time.

  19. I just stumbled upon here and I find this post quite interesting and fun especially after reading the comments…Well, all I can say is that men who have some degree of “fashion sense” are cool.

    I personally admire “real men” who know what’s in and what’s not when it comes to style and fashion and those who can tell if woman’s make-up complements her beauty or not. Anyway, if ever you want some beauty tips, check out http://www.beautytipsdaily.com

Leave a Reply

