a little thing

 

hazel

After 15 years of dipping in and out of Mother Julian’s Revelations, I have finally seen a hazelnut. I know, I know — I must have seen them before. But I didn’t know they were hazelnuts, since I didn’t recognize the tree. So I have never known how luminous, how very soft, how lovely they are.

And so much more world like in their fragility. Julian must have had a green nut in mind, existing because it is loved.

It was at this time that our Lord showed me spiritually how intimately he loves us. I saw that he is everything that we know to be good and helpful. In his love he clothes us, enfolds us and embraces us; that tender love completely surrounds us, never to leave us As I saw it he is everything that is good.

And he showed me more, a little thing, the size of a hazelnut, on the palm of my hand, round like a ball. I looked at it thoughtfully and wondered, ‘What is this?’ And the answer came, ‘It is all that is made.’ I marvelled that it continued to exist and did not suddenly disintegrate; it was so small. And again my mind supplied the answer, ‘it exists, both now and for ever, because God loves it.’ In short, everything owes its existence to the love of God.

–Mother Julian, First Revelation

4 thoughts on “a little thing

  1. Thank you. After a long afternoon/evening/now becoming night of dissertation work, a little of Mother Julian’s nut love was just what I needed (incidentally – I tried to abbreviate Mother just then and failed utterly – Mr doesn’t work, neither does Mtr – Mor maybe?).

Leave a Reply

