day off

A good day today. It began with a slow morning of deer watching with Molly, followed by a sparkly ferry crossing with divers flashing wings and shaking tail feathers all around.

A friend rang just in time for us to meet for lunch. Restaurant criteria: no Piskies.

Two book shops, a quick pass through Starbucks and out of Glasgow ahead of the traffic. Off to the cinema to see Harry Potter; home via Tescos, and an other beautiful ferry crossing with golden light shearing down and low white clouds curling around the hills.

The present Harry Potter film is of the book most people hated. I suspect the film will be equally unloved. But I have always liked the fifth book. It is angry and dark and it doesn’t seem to go anywhere. The plot is thin, and the characters don’t progress much, caught between wanting love and sulking off in solitude because they can’t trust it. Which is, it seems to me, the very essence of being 15. Some years just have to be lived through. Rowling’s skill is in so perfectly charting the journey from childhood to adulthood — even if that means that book five has to be awkward and difficult and hard to love.

13 thoughts on “day off

  1. Oh yes. I’ve read them all, seen them all, and will get the new one next week.

    I’ve even used the first book as a sort of ‘how to’ workbook in a writing course.

    Which one put you off?

  2. Glad you had a good day – oh yea, I’m at the Castle on Friday night and have every intention of spending all day Saturday reading. I do hope it isn’t Ron who dies – poor poor Molly if it is.

  3. My family are off to Camas on Saturday, leaving me alone in the flat for a whole week, with a work deadline and the last Potter book. This will be a sort of torture….as I flip in between responsibility to an editor and desire to find out what happens in HP7. I also suspect that Youth Week in Camas will only be punctuated by the sounds of pages being turned and ‘ooohhhhs’ and ‘aaahhhhs’ from a variety of ages…..
    Only our cats will be oblivious.

  4. The three cats in this household go into hibination when the human (both young and old) residents leave. I get myself all excited that somehow I will suddenly become the focus of all the feline attention in the flat. I imagine being surrounding by purring fuzzballs of affection, who just want to share my space and express how grateful they are not to be in a cattery. In actuality, they take to the cat bed and only raise their heads to be fed. Most disappointing. 🙂

    I have been known to go and get them, place them on the sofa and gently suggest I could do with their company. Distain is offered in return quite often. A sort of, ‘yes, well, really, you’re ok, but frankly it’s just not the same without all the other energy’. Thank goodness for the consolation of religion!!!!!!!
    (At the moment one cat is on my desk pushing my pens around, the other is grabbing my arm demanding I throw her toy (she thinks she’s a dog), and the third is contemplating a hard day’s sleep.’ (And I am procrastinating, yikes.)

  5. Oooh, I’m with you K. I loved the ‘dark’ book too. And I am looking forward to the weekend, feet up on the recliner, nice smelly candle at my side (allergy to cats) and the answering machine switched on. Ah bliss.

    Useless piece of information = my school colours were the same as Harry’s (maroon and gold).

  6. Whilst the only HP I like is the sauce 😉 I’m so very pleased that you enjoyed your day off Kimberly. Whenever a new Harry Potter book or film is released I feel a tad left out. I’ve tried to like them and really admire the quality of the films but there just not my thing.

    Now, as for our purry felines, that’s something I truly appreciate and wouldn’t be without.

  7. Thank you for the reminder about what I was going to do on my day off!!

    Though it might have to wait until after I’ve read book 7…

    I like book 5 a lot. But then there’s still a bit of a 15 year lurking in me, methinks.

  8. I used the first book with a class (S1, I think) when it was still pretty new. The department then ordered the second book, but by then I had lost the will and just let the ones who wanted to read it for themselves. I think the self-conscious whimsy annoyed me (like the silly uniforms) and the over-drawn characters. I couldn’t help comparing it with the wonderful “Elidor” by Alan Garner, who really knows how to mingle magic and the mundane so that you’re on the edge of your seat.
    I suppose in the end I thought it suitable for much younger readers than I was dealing with – which is why I wonder when adults seem enthralled. Same with the films – love Daniel Radcliffe but became bored within minutes despite the effects.

    It’s a while now since I read the one and a half books I did, but looking back I think I was completely uninvolved by character or action, and found very little to draw on for imaginative development in the classroom. Sorry!

  9. Alas, I am a complete Harry Potter groupie 😦 I lose myself in the books – especially the dark ones, and I have listened to the Stephen Fry reading of them as a form of regular stress relief.

  10. I’ve just finished it – thought it was excellent – I’m not a huge fan of the films. It is the usual story about radio having better pictures.

    The content of the books changes very much as the children age, and so do the issues handled.

  11. I second Rosemay’s view – excellent – Saturday, having seen the St Mary’s mob off to Oban became a Potter fest – movie then book. Hope Kimberly gets a chance to do likewise……(In the end the cats all piled on top of me) 🙂

Leave a Reply

